Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Issue 64 - dome fitting problem Options
Macu_PL
#1 Posted : 23 August 2021 11:36:26

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered

Joined: 23/08/2021
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: Poland
Hi All,
In Poland we just get Issue 63-64-65-66.
I notice problem with fitting dome, steel cover is not linear with holes for electronic.
Is not possible to assemble all parts together.
Someone have this same issue? Do You have idea how to solve this problem?
Regards
Macu_PL
admin
#2 Posted : 25 August 2021 03:38:24
Rank: Administration


Groups: Administrator, Administrators

Joined: 24/08/2009
Posts: 1,652
Points: 5,049
Location: Nevada, US
I suspect you have a frame segment or two out of place. I’ve not seen this problem before! I vaguely recall having to go back and disassemble the done framework on my build, as I’d installed the 2nd “ring” of frame parts incorrectly.

Best,

Mark

(Mark or Carl might have better input though)
“No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it’s not the same river and he’s not the same man.”

Heraclitus
.

S4Simon
#3 Posted : 25 August 2021 06:00:00

Rank: Pro
Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthRed Medal: Red MedalBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Registered

Joined: 28/01/2016
Posts: 130
Points: 380
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I was trying to understand what was amiss here, but I can't see anything. As Mark said, it's probably just a misalignment of one of the frame pieces.

My old pics don't really show much, but they may be of some help in referencing where everything should be.

In the top pic if you zoom up, everything lines up fine.



[
BUILDING: Hachette Bismarck, Hachette Spitfire

COMPLETED: Deagostini Millennium Falcon, Deagostini R2-D2
Macu_PL
#4 Posted : 25 August 2021 07:05:34

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered

Joined: 23/08/2021
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: Poland
I will do that. This can be an option. I will let You know. Thanks
Macu_PL
#5 Posted : 26 August 2021 11:21:56

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered

Joined: 23/08/2021
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: Poland
After 8h of reassembly no result, but I think I found prove that problem is with external shell.
Red arrow my build, green arrow screen from official building video, last one is dome alignment in axis of holes according Simon photo and we can see the problem is on upper fitting holes.
Is difficult to measure but is between 7- and 10-degrees twist from main axis.
Now I’m wonder if I need to claim this to DeAgostini or try to fix it by making modification?
Markwarren
#6 Posted : 26 August 2021 13:08:10

Rank: Super-Elite

Publisher Medal: Featured Build of the MonthActive Service Medal: 500 post active service MedalPurple Medal: Super active service medal for 1000 postsRed Medal: Red MedalTurquoise Medal: Turquoise Medal for model making know-how contributionOutstanding Build: An award for an outstanding buildBuild-Diary Medal: Build-Diary Medal of Honour
Groups: Administrators, Global Forum Support, Registered, Moderator, Official Builds

Joined: 04/01/2016
Posts: 5,795
Points: 17,666
Location: Northamptonshire, England
I think the best option is to call customer sevices in your area and ask for a replacement dome. Trying to make modification will only result in other issues later in the build.

Regards
Mark
Macu_PL
#7 Posted : 16 September 2021 07:57:20

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered

Joined: 23/08/2021
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: Poland
Hi all,
I finally get new dome and fit perfectly. All cutouts are in line and electronic fits. And now starts funny part. To rebuild I need set of double tape. The customer service in Poland says they can't just send me tapes as they don't have such kits, they can send the whole number, but they can't send me 10 issues because it's against the policy.

Do you know what thickness is the tape used by DeAgostini to build R2D2?
3M has several types in its assortment, I would like to buy the right one and cut the elements by myself, because it seems that the discussion may drag on for months, and in Poland the customer is always in a losing position :(

Regards
AndrzejS
#8 Posted : 25 November 2021 12:18:41

Rank: Newbie

Groups: New Members, Unapproved

Joined: 25/11/2021
Posts: 1
Points: 3
Location: AndrzejS
Macu_PL:
Siemka, Mi też nie pasuje. Jak zgłaszałeś ten problem. Pisałem na adres dostawcy
( r2d2 primaneo) i zgłaszałem przez stronę. Jak na razie brak odzewu. Confused

Co do grubości taśmy dwustronnej - to mają taką w Juli.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2009, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.103 seconds.
DeAgostini